This 2021 Kick-Off Pools match kicks off at 19h00 and will be broadcast live on SuperSport. Marius van der Westhuizen is the referee.

Pienaar has been eased back into action following a knee injury last year and played off the bench in their win again DHL Stormers late last month. He takes over from Tian Meyer, who moves to the bench.

Toyota Cheetahs coach Hawies Fourie also included Malcolm Jaer and Dries Swanepoel in the starting line-up where they take over from Duncan Saal and Chris Smit respectively.

There are several changes in the pack as well. Aidon Davis will start in the place of the injured Jeandre Rudolph (calf) while both props have been replaced.

Khutha Mchunu and Aranos Coetzee switch places at tighthead. with Coetzee playing off the bench. Cameron Dawson will be replacing the injured Schalk Ferreira (groin) as the loosehead, with Conraad van Vuuren adding cover.

Oupa Mohoje is another familiar face on the bench, but Jean Droste and Brandon Thomson will be making their debut for the Toyota Cheetahs when they set foot to field, with both named on the bench.

Charles Marais (neck), Junior Pokomela (wrist), William Small-Smith (concussion) and Louis van der Westhuizen (knee) were not considered due to injury.  

Toyota Cheetahs: 15 Clayton Blommetjies, 14 Malcolm Jaer, 13 Dries Swanepoel, 12 Frans Steyn, 11 Rosko Specman, 10 Reinhardt Fortuin, 9 Ruan Pienaar (captain), 8 Aidon Davis, 7 George Cronje, 6 Andisa Ntsila, 5 Rynier Bernardo, 4 Carl Wegner, 3 Khutha Mchunu, 2 Wilmar Arnoldi, 1 Cameron Dawson. Replacements: 16 Marnus van der Merwe, 17 Conraad van Vuuren, 18 Aranos Coetzee, 19 Jean Droste, 20 Oupa Mohoje, 21 Tian Meyer, 22 Brandon Thomson, 23 Chris Smit.