The hard-running fullback takes over the captaincy from the injured Inny Radebe for this 2021 Kick-Off Pools match, and will start in the No 15 jersey in the place of Riaan Arends, who wore it against the Vodacom Bulls last time around.

Winnaar, who has played for the Cell C Sharks and Southern Kings before, was not available for that clash and is one in a rash of changes made by coach Peter de Villiers.

In fact, only six players in the starting line-up will run out again on Wednesday afternoon, when referee AJ Jacobs calls them into action at 16h45.

Peter de Villiers at training

Peter de Villiers at training

Qeutyne Oerson (wing) and Sherwin Slater (centre) are the only backs who kept their match day jerseys, although Athi Mayinje and Christopher Hollis swop the number 11 and 13 jerseys around.

The well-travelled Karlo Aspeling takes over from Radebe, with the former Valke, SWD and Border pivot making a fourth appearance in the EP shirt. Josh Allderman will be his halfback partner, having played off the bench in Pretoria.

Amongst the tight five that started at Loftus Versfeld, only lock Athenkosi Khetani has been retained, while former Madibaz No 8, Bevin Prinsloo, was called onto the bench.

De Villiers again opted for a six/two split on the bench.

Eastern Province: 15 Courtney Winnaar (captain), 14 Qeutyne Oerson, 13 Athi Mayinje, 12 Sherwin Slater, 11 Christopher Hollis, 10 Karlo Aspeling, 9 Josh Allderman, 8 Zingisa April, 7 Anele Lungisa, 6 CJ Velleman, 5 Arnold Kleyn, 4 Athenkosi Khetani, 3 Emile Klaassen, 2 Sithembiso Befile, 1 Siya Nzuzo. Replacements: 16 Robin Stevens, 17 Lyle Lombard, 18 Lupumlo Mgcuca, 19 Mncedisi Dlwengu, 20 Bevin Prinsloo, 21 Diego Williams, 22 Wian van der Sandt, 23 Riaan Arends.