The Down Touch Griffons will host Boland at HT Pelatona Stadium, and Eastern Province will meet the Phakisa Pumas at the De Wet Stadium after the round-robin stages of the competition came to a thrilling close, with all of the sides with the exception of Boland - who qualified as the best runner-up outside of the three respective pool winners – winning all four of their pool matches.

The pool stages of the competition saw the teams being split into three geographical pools featuring three teams, with each side playing a double round of matches – two at home and two away.

Eastern Province registered the biggest victory of the weekend in Despatch as they thumped SWD 74-7 thanks to a 12-try romp in which winger Curtley Deysel earned a hat-trick and flanker Dirkie Ferreira a brace.

Their dominance saw them build up an encouraging 31-7 halftime lead, and they continued to march on as the match progressed, while they denied SWD from adding to their converted try.

The Down Touch Griffons also stamped their authority from the outset against the Leopards in Potchefstroom where they built up a 33-14 lead and their maintained their strong form to finish the match with eight tries.

Aaron Seth Larue (winger) and versatile back Franco Smith made valuable contributions as they each earned braces, while the team conceded two first-half tries and one in the second half, denying the Leopards a bonus point.

The Phakisa Pumas, meanwhile, held off the Valke in a tightly-fought clash in Nelspruit where they overturned a 15-14 halftime deficit for the 29-27 victory thanks to their five tries to four by the opposition.

Centre Darryl Wellman scored twice for the hosts, with another three players crossing the tryline en route the win.

SA Rugby U20 Championship round 4 results:

Eastern Province 74 SWD 7

Eastern Province 74 (31) - Tries: Dirkie Ferreira (2), Bevan Prinsloo, Johan Lombaard, Curtley Deysel (3), Lennox Holster, Jean-pierre Greyling, Matthew Olivera, Sachin Toring, Kevin Slow. Conversions: Johan Lombaard (3), Sachin Toring, Dylan Le Roux (3).

SWD 7 (7) - Try: Roshwin Abrahams. Conversion: Roshwin Abrahams.

Leopards 21 Down Touch Griffons 50

Leopards 21 (14) - Tries: Zian de Jager, Keenan Twigg (2). Conversions: Zian de Jager (3).

Down Touch Griffons (33) - Tries: Schalk Bezuidenhout, Max Williamson, Jan Strydom, Aaron Seth Larue (2), Luyanda Mkhize, Franco Smith (2). Conversions: Jan Strydom (4), Franco Smith.

Phakisa Pumas 29 Valke 27

Phakisa Pumas 29 (14) - Tries: Dylon Senger, Quintion October, Darryl Wellman (2), Waldo Snyman. Conversions: Riekert Barnard (2).

Valke 27 (15) - Tries: Hugo Scott (2), PJ De Beer, Arno Mostert. Conversions: JP Pieterse (2). Penalty Goal: JP Pieterse.

SA Rugby U20 Championship semi-final fixtures (Saturday, 24 August):

13h00: Down Touch Griffons v Boland - HT Pelatona Stadium, Welkom

14h00: Eastern Province v Phakisa Pumas - De Wet Stadium, Despatch