Today, marks exactly one month to go to the much-anticipated 2019 Rugby World Cup in Japan. Sunday, 18 August 2019 was exactly a year ago where Namibia beat Kenya at the Hage Geingob Stadium to secure their place in the Rugby World Cup 2019.

“It was a fantastic day which the players earned Namibia the right to take part in the biggest rugby union tournament in the world,” said Davies.

The next few weeks is focused on finalising preparation to a level that will earn Namibia the opportunity to make history, included are confirmed warm-up matches to take place on 31 August against the Isuzu Southern Kings in Windhoek, followed by a second match in Walvis Bay on 7 September.

“We have split the training squad into two categories in order to give ourselves the best opportunity and extended time to select Namibia’s strongest squad for Japan," explained Davies.

Today, the Durban Squad and management departed to South Africa for a High Intensity Camp. Included in the camp is a match against a Cell C Sharks team, on Saturday 24 August 2019. The Kaizen Group remain in contention for final World Cup selection, which will be announced on 2 September 2019.

KAIZEN SQUAD: Simon Kanime, Mahepisa Tjeriko, Gino Wilson, Russel van Wyk, Thomas Kali, Graham April, Adriaan Ludick, Mahco Prinsloo, Neil van Vuuren, Janry du Toit, Jason Benade.

DURBAN SQUAD: Andre Rademeyer, Max Katjijeko, JC Winkler, Nelius Theron, Renaldo Bothma, Darryl de la Harpe, Casper Viviers, Prince !Gaoseb, Justin Newman, Desiderius Sethie, Wian Conradie, Johan Deysel, AJ De Klerk, PJ van Lill, JC Greyling, Aranos Coetzee, Adriaan Booysen, Johann Tromp, Obert Nortje, Janco Venter, Chrysander Botha, Louis v/d Westhuizen, Rohan Kitshoff, Chad Plato, Torsten van Jaarsveld, Cliven Loubser, Lesley Klim, Tjiuee Uanivi, Helarius Kisting, Oderich Mouton, Ruan Ludick, Damian Stevens, Dumarcho Hartung, Johan Retief, PW Steenkamp, PJ Walters, Thomasau Forbes, Eugene Jantjies.