The HSBC World Rugby Sevens Series is an annual series of international sevens tournaments run by World Rugby featuring national sevens teams. The series, organised for the first time in the 1999/2000 season, was formed to develop an elite-level sevens competition between rugby nations and develop the game into a viable commercial product for World Rugby.

The history

The season's circuit consists of 10 tournaments that generally begin in late November or early December and last until May or early June the following year. Tournaments are held across 10 countries, and visits five of the six populated continents. The United Arab Emirates, South Africa, Australia, New Zealand, the United States, Canada, Hong Kong, Singapore, France and England each host one event. Each tournament has 16 teams - 15 core teams that participate in each tournament and one regional qualifier. Teams compete for the World Series title by accumulating points based on their finishing position in each tournament. The lowest placed core team at the end of the season is dropped, and replaced by the winner of the Hong Kong Sevens. New Zealand had originally dominated the World Series, winning each of the first six seasons from 1999/2000 to 2004/05, but since then, Fiji, South Africa and Samoa have each won season titles. England and Australia have placed in the top three on multiple occasions, but neither has won the series. The International Olympic Committee's decision in 2009 to add rugby sevens to the Olympic Games beginning in 2016 in Rio has added a boost to the World Series, which has led to increased exposure and revenues, leading several of the core teams to field fully professional squads.

There are currently no fixtures available.


09 Mar |BC Place

USA Sevens

24 - 26

England Sevens

09 Mar |BC Place

South Africa Sevens

19 - 26

Canada Sevens

09 Mar |BC Place

New Zealand Sevens

17 - 14

Australia Sevens