Mr Andre Rademan, the Eastern Province Rugby Union (EPRU) president, has been appointed as the new chairman and is joined by Mr Mbulelo Gidane, chairman of the EPRU Finance and Human Resources Committee, SA Rugby Executive Council nominees, Mr Monde Tabata and Mr Jannie Louw, and independent, Mr Gugu Nxiweni, who has been retained from the previous board.

The appointments follow SA Rugby’s renewed involvement in the franchise, following the decision to take back a 74% shareholding on 19 June after the equity partner – the Greatest Rugby Company in the Whole Wide World (GRC) – was unable to meet contractual commitments.

The EPRU have two places on the board as the minority shareholder (26%).

SA Rugby has assumed responsibility for the management of the franchise’s affairs while team preparations for a return-to-play under Kings’ director of rugby, Robbie Kempson, are being supported by the SA Rugby’s, director of rugby, Rassie Erasmus.