The second was in Perth in 2003, which was won by England 25-6. Jonny Wilkinson was successful with a conversion, four penalty goals and two drop goals for a personal tally of 20 points.

The third and fourth Test matches between the two countries took place at the 2007 RWC tournament in France. The Springboks easily won the pool match 36-0. England won all their other pool matches as well as the quarter-final and semi-final to qualify for the final.

The final turned out to be a kicking duel between Jonny Wilkinson (two penalty goals) and Percy Montgomery (four penalty goals) with Frans Steyn adding another penalty to the Springboks final score of 15-6.

England have competed in all RWC tournaments since 1987. To date England’s record is as follows: Played 49; Won 36; Lost 13; Points for 1 557; Points against 751; Win % 73.

South Africa’s first RWC tournament was in 1995 and the Springbok record to date is as follows: Played 42; Won 35; Lost 7; Points for 1 480; Points against 541; Win % 83.

This will be the 43rd Test match between the two countries and the Springboks’ records to date are as follows:


  • Most points: 58
  • Most tries: 8
  • Most conversions: 7
  • Most penalty goals: 6
  • Most drop goals: 5


  • Most points: 34 – Jannie de Beer.
  • Most tries: 3 – Danie Gerber.
  • Most conversions: 7 – Percy Montgomery.
  • Most penalty goals: 6 – Braam van Straaten.
  • Most drop goals: 5 – Jannie de Beer.


  • The total test caps for the Springbok starting line-up is 694; an average of 46.
  • There are 222 caps in the backline (average 32) with 472 caps amongst the forwards (average 59). On the bench there are a further 308 caps (average 39).
  • The average age of the starting fifteen is 28.


  • Handré Pollard needs two tries to equal the career record of eight tries as a flyhalf held by Morné Steyn.


  • The referee is Jérôme Garcès of France. This will be his 15th Test match as a referee with South Africa involved and his 56th Test match in his career.
  • The assistant referees are Romain Poite of France and Ben O’Keeffe of New Zealand, while Ben Skeen, also from New Zealand, will be the TMO.