In the A Section, Western Province had to work hard for third successive victory as they took on their 2018 final opponents, Border, with the Cape Town side overturning a 7-5 halftime deficit to grind out a 22-21 victory.

Western Province winger Kimico Manuel scored two of her team’s four tries, while three different players scored for Border. But it was the visitors’ fullback, Snenhlanhla Shozi, who kept the scoreline close as she converted all three tries, while the hosts only managed one conversion.

The Blue Bulls put their disappointing start to the season behind them as they ground out a 10-5 victory against Boland at Loftus Versfeld on Friday, thanks to two second-half tries.

The home side’s centre Lollie Hlabangane proved to be of the star of the match, scoring both tries after the teams entered the break scoreless, while the Blue Bulls limited the visitors to one try.

In Port Elizabeth, a penalty goal by Sharks flyhalf Tayla Kinsey proved to be the difference on the scoreboard in an epic clash against Eastern Province.

Eastern Province scored all their points in the first half to take an encouraging 17-10 lead, with Springbok Women’s No 8 Aseza Hele contributing a brace, but the Sharks staged a strong fightback to win 20-17. The home team’s centre Nqobile Mhlangu also made her presence felt with two tries.

The Pumas, meanwhile, got the B Section off to an exciting start as they scored an impressive six tries in a quality opening display against the Limpopo Blue Bulls in Nelspruit for a 34-22 victory.

The hosts tried hard to make their presence felt and they scored four tries for their efforts, but they did not have enough firepower to match the visitors’ determined attack.

SA Rugby Women’s Interprovincial A Section results:

Blue Bulls 10-5 Boland (Loftus Versfeld B Field, Pretoria)

Eastern Province 17-20 Sharks (Wolfson Stadium, Port Elizabeth)

Western Province 22-21 Border (Athlone Stadium, Cape Town)

SA Rugby Women’s Interprovincial B Section result:

Pumas 34-22 Limpopo Blue Bulls (Nelspruit Rugby Club)