Jacobs on 2019 Vodacom Super Rugby ref panel
February 04, 2019
South African referee AJ Jacobs is one of two new match officials who were on Monday included on the 2019 Vodacom Super Rugby panel.

The 15-man referee team comprises an excellent mix of experienced international referees, several referees with one or two years’ Vodacom Super Rugby behind them and some emerging referee talent in the form of Jacobs and Australian Damon Murphy.

Jacobs joins Jaco Peyer – the most experienced referee on the list – Rasta Rasivhenge, Egon Seconds and Marius van der Westhuizen as one of five South Africans on the referee panel. There are also six referees from New Zealand, three from Australia and one from Argentina on the panel.

Following a comprehensive review of match official performances in 2018 and to ensure continued growth in the referee team performance, the team has been reduced from 17 to 15 referees.

Another outcome from the review will see all match referees, assistant referees and television match official (TMO) appointments being made by SANZAAR.

When required, due to logistical and operational requirements, SANZAAR will utilise match officials from outside the team of 15 that allows for the development of local talent.

2019 Vodacom Super Rugby Referee Team (Referee/Country/Super Rugby Matches)

Federico Anselmi Argentina 14
Nic Berry Australia 21
Nick Briant New Zealand 50
Mike Fraser New Zealand 48
Angus Gardner Australia 62
AJ Jacobs South Africa 0
Glen Jackson New Zealand 77
Ben O’Keeffe New Zealand 36
Jaco Peyper South Africa 95
Brendon Pickerill New Zealand 18
Rasta Rasivhenge South Africa 15
Egon Seconds South Africa 10
Marius van der Westhuizen South Africa 35
Paul Williams New Zealand 19
Damon Murphy Australia 0