Junior Provincial championship semi-finalists confirmed
October 08, 2018
The SA Rugby Under-19, Under-20 and Under-21 Rugby Championship semi-finalists were confirmed this past weekend in a thrilling finish to the pool stages of the respective tournaments.

In the SA Rugby U21 Championship, log-leaders, the Xerox Golden Lions booked their semi-final berth against Toyota Free State in Johannesburg on Saturday, 20 October, while DHL Western Province will take on the Vodacom Blue Bulls in Cape Town.

The Xerox Golden Lions’ accurate goal-kicking was decisive in their 27-19 victory against the Cell C Sharks in Johannesburg, which marked their fifth win in six matches. Both sides scored three tries, but three conversions and two penalty goals by Jean-luc Cilliers earned them the victory.

DHL Western Province were in sublime form against the Leopards in Cape Town and touched down an impressive 14 times for their 90-14 victory, with Moegamat Kannemeyer contributing a hat-trick and Marco Labuschagne and Daniel Jooste braces.

The Toyota Cheetahs also registered a morale-boosting 85-29 victory against Eastern Province in Bloemfontein where their fine form earned them 13 tries. Junior Springbok, Lubabalo Dobela, delivered a solid performance with four tries and four conversions, while William Eybers scored two tries. Eastern Province, in turn, scored four tries, but they battled to contain the hosts on defence.

In the U20 Championship, the Pumas will host Limpopo in their semi-final on Saturday, while log-leaders, the Griffons will host the Valke.

The Pumas sealed second place on the log table with a 43-31 victory against Griquas in Middelburg, where they outscored their opponents seven tries to four. Josua Steenberg scored a brace for the Mpumalanga side, while Chrizaan Strauss scored a try and four conversions for his 13 points.

Limpopo started their clash against the Valke strongly for an encouraging 21-5 lead, and they maintained their dominance in the second half to secure a 35-24 victory, thanks to braces by Sasha Jacobs and Jason Martins and a fine kicking display by Xander Kruger.

The undefeated Cell C Sharks U19’s, meanwhile, will host DHL Western Province in Durban in their semi-final on Saturday, 20 October, while the Vodacom Blue Bulls will battle it out with the Xerox Golden Lions in a Gauteng derby in Pretoria.

The Cell C Sharks registered their 12th victory in a row thanks to a comprehensive 57-19 victory against the Xerox Golden Lions in Johannesburg, with their impressive attack earning them nine tries - four of which were scored by Caleb Dingaan and Phendulani Buthelezi - while they limited the opposition to three.

DHL Western Province overcame a hard-fought first half against the Leopards in Cape Town in which they held a slender 12-10 lead to break away for a 41-15 victory, while Toyota Free State outplayed Eastern Province completely for a memorable 96-7 victory as they ran in 15 tries and limited the opposition to one.

SA Rugby U21 Championship results:

Xerox Golden Lions 27 (17) Cell C Sharks 19 (0)

Xerox Golden Lions – Tries: Ruan Vermaak, Bradley Thain, Ngwekazi Khanya Ncusane. Conversions: Jeanluc Cilliers (3). Penalty Goals: Jeanluc Cilliers (2).
Cell C Sharks - Tries: Jordan Els, Courtney Winnaar, Gert Cronje. Conversions: James Haydn Tedder (2).

DHL Western Province 90 (38) Leopards 14 (14)

DHL Western Province - Tries: Daniel Jooste (2), Nama Xaba, Zain Davids, Lyle Hendricks, Cornel Smit, Nico Leonard, Marco Labuschagne (2), Wikus Groenewald, Moegamat Kannemeyer (3), Mujaahid Van Der Hoven. Conversions: Jondre Williams (4), Lomb Lombaard (5), Lyle Hendricks.
Leopards - Tries: Jeandre Hendrik Leonard, Michiel Bosman. Conversions: Janlu Steenkamp (2).

Toyota Free State 85 (54) Eastern Province 29 (10)

Toyota Free State - Tries: Janco Cloete, Bertie De Bod, Zinedine Booysen, Francois Agenbag, William Eybers (2), Kurt Eybers, Marthinus Boshoff, Craig Ellis, Lubabalo Dobela (4). Conversions: Kwagga Taylor (6), Lubabalo Dobela (4).
Eastern Province - Tries: Jerome Lottering, Cameron Cato, Wayne Moss, Malan Marais. Conversions: Wayne Moss (3). Penalty Goal: Wayne Moss.

SA Rugby U20 Championship results:

Pumas 43 (36) Griquas 31 (17)

Pumas - Tries: Calvin Clack, Chrizaan Strauss, Josua Steenberg (2), Curtley Deysel, Japie Kleinhans, Ashwill Botha. Conversions: Chrizaan Strauss (4).
Griquas - Tries: Sinovuyo Bali, Jaco Wilkenson, Chadwin November, Christiaan Swanepoel. Conversions: Chadwin November (4). Penalty Goal: Chadwin November.

Limpopo 35 (21) Valke 24 (5)

Limpopo - Tries: Jan-Barend Meyer, Sasha Jacobs (2), Jason Martins (2). Conversions: Xander Kruger (5).
Valke - Tries: Dylan Nysschen (2), Ruan Wasserman, Caltino Jones. Conversions: Dylan Nysschen (2).

SA Rugby 19 Championship results:

Xerox Golden Lions 19 (7) Cell C Sharks 57 (26)

Xerox Golden Lions - Tries: Asenathi Ntlabakanye, Prince Nkabinde, Tinus Combrinck. Conversions: Christian Humphries (2).
Cell C Sharks - Tries: James Scott, Dylan Richardson, Phendulani Buthelezi (2), Asanda Sihle Kunene, Caleb Dingaan (2), Adam Mountfort, Donald Falconer. Conversions: Sanele Nohamba (3), Henry Chamberlain (2), Thaakir Abrahams.

DHL Western Province 41 (12) Leopards 15 (10)

DHL Western Province - Tries: Ruhann Greyling, Ross Taylor, Francke Horn, Duren Hoffman, Angelo Davids, David Coetzer. Conversions: Christopher Schreuder (4). Penalty Goal: Christopher Schreuder.
Leopards - Tries: Siyabonga Khoza, Heinrich Botha. Conversion: Tristan Oosthuizen. Penalty Goal: Tristan Oosthuizen.

Toyota Free State 96 (48) Eastern Province 7 (0)

Toyota Free State - Tries: Janus Venter, Leon van Jaarsveld, Elrigh Louw (2), Andre Hanekom, Jacques Van Biljon (2), Philppus Johannes Krugell, James Mollentze (2), Ayabonga Matroos, Cham Zondeki, Jason Raubenheimer, Juandre Sabbat, Message Nkosi. Conversions: Marc Morrison (4), James Mollentze (3).
Eastern Province - Try: Sachin Toring. Conversion: Sachin Toring.