Vodacom Super Rugby match schedule for 2019
June 12, 2018
SANZAAR has announced the tournament dates for the 2019 Vodacom Super Rugby competition that will kick-off on Friday 15 February when the Chiefs host the Highlanders in New Zealand, with the Cell C Sharks getting local proceedings underway with an away clash against the Sunwolves.

All four South African teams will be in action on the opening weekend – the Vodacom Bulls host the DHL Stormers and the Emirates Lions play away against the Jaguares – and the Final will take place on Saturday 6 July.

The full match schedule can be downloaded here.

As there will be no June Tests in 2019 – due to Rugby World Cup 2019 in Japan later in the year – Vodacom Super Rugby will run uninterrupted for 21 weeks.

There will also be a uniform start to the tournament in Round 1, with a full round of seven matches to kick-off Vodacom Super Rugby.

The tournament’s 15-team, three-conference format remains the same. Each team plays 16 regular season conference matches that include eight matches within their own Conference (home and away) and four matches against teams from each of the other Conferences (home or away). Each team also have two byes. This is a total of 120 matches in the regular season that will be followed by a seven-match, eight-team finals series.

Australia Conference: Brumbies, Rebels, Reds, Waratahs, Sunwolves
New Zealand Conference: Blues, Chiefs, Crusaders, Highlanders, Hurricanes
South African Conference: Vodacom Bulls, Emirates Lions, Cell C Sharks, DHL Stormers, Jaguares

The Vodacom Super Rugby Finals series will also remain unchanged with each of the three Conference winners qualifying for and hosting a quarter-final.

The team with the most tournament points that is not a Conference winner, regardless of Conference, will host the fourth quarter-final. This Wildcard team will be joined in the quarter-finals by the next best four Wildcards teams based on tournament points and regardless of Conference.

The released schedule confirms all tournament match dates and kick-off times. However, the match venues will be announced later in the year once teams have determined where their home matches will be allocated.

The Castle Lager Rugby Championship
Saturday, July 20 2019
17:05 - South Africa vs Australia
Emirates Airline Park, Johannesburg
Saturday, July 27 2019
09:35 - New Zealand vs South Africa
Westpac Stadium, Wellington
Saturday, August 10 2019
00:00 - Argentina vs South Africa
Castle Lager Incoming Series
Saturday, August 17 2019
17:05 - South Africa vs Argentina
Loftus Versfeld, Pretoria
RWC Warm-up game
Friday, September 06 2019
00:00 - Japan vs South Africa
Kumagaya Rugby Stadium, Saitama
Rugby World Cup
Saturday, September 21 2019
11:45 - South Africa vs New Zealand
International Stadium, Yokohama
Saturday, September 28 2019
11:45 - South Africa vs Namibia
City of Toyota Stadium
Friday, October 04 2019
11:45 - South Africa vs Italy
Shizuoka Stadium
Tuesday, October 08 2019
12:15 - South Africa vs Canada
Kobe Misaki Stadium

Copyright - SA Rugby. All Rights Reserved - Photos by Gallo Images