Deysel leads Leopards to fourth victory
September 03, 2016

Johan Deysel scored 15 points to help the Leopards to their fourth consecutive victory in the Currie Cup First Division with an emphatic 42-19 (halftime 21-5) victory over the Hino Valke at the Barnard Stadium in Kempton Park on Saturday.

The stand-in goal-kicker scored a try and landed five conversions as the visitors turned on the style to pick up their fourth consecutive bonus-point victory and maintain their position on top of the Currie Cup First Division.

The Leopards ran in three converted tries in the first 20 minutes with flyhalf Gene Willemse dotting down twice after just 11 minutes. Left wing Bradley Moolman then added the third midway through the first half before tighthead prop Andries Schutte barged his way over in the corner for the hosts' only points of the half.

The second stanza proved a more fruitful affair for the home side but the visitors matched their scoring from the first 40 minutes. The Leopards registered their bonus point straight from the kickoff with inside centre Deysel running a good angle to score his team's fourth try, which he converted himself to open up a 23-point lead.

Replacement centre Xander Cronje scored a good try for the hosts with replacement flyhalf Karlo Aspeling converting to reduce the deficit to 16 points. But replacement lock HP Swart restored the 23-point advantage with his try after 62 minutes which Deysel converted.

Scrumhalf Johan Pretorius darted around the field to score his side's third try which Aspeling converted but the Leopards had the final say Deysel's centre partner rounded off a great afternoon for the log leaders, scoring with just three minutes left on the clock. Johnny Welthagen, who replaced Deysel, converted to hand the Leopards a very satisfactory First Division victory.


Hino Valke - Tries: Andries Schutte, Johan Pretorius, Xander Cronje; Conversions: Karlo Aspeling.

Leopards - Tries: Gene Willemse (2), Adrian Vermeulen, Bradley Moolman, HP Swart, Johan Deysel; Conversions: Deysel (5), Johnny Welthagen.


Copyright - SA Rugby. All Rights Reserved - Photos by Gallo Images