Blue Bulls rout Griffons
June 04, 2016

The Vodacom Blue Bulls scored eight tries to four in thumping the Down Touch Griffons 57-28 (halftime 26-21) in their new provincial tournament rugby fixture at HT Pelatona Projects Stadium, Welkom, on Saturday.

The result would have come as a surprise to the competition’s followers when one takes into account the Bulls were 12 points behind the Griffons in 12th spot on the log coming into the match. The Griffons occupied fifth and were chasing promotion to the top tier of the competition.

The Griffons started with a bang as flank Thato Mavundla scored the first try in the third minute which was converted by flyhalf George Whitehead.

Bulls hooker Corniel Els scrambled over the tryline for the visitors 10 minutes later but the Griffons extended their lead to 14-5 when Whitehead converted prop Heinrich Roefse’s try.

The Bulls seemed to find their stride after that and they came back with tries from centre Alcino Izaacs and flank Roelof Smit. Flyhalf Joshua Stander and fullback Divan Rossouw kicked the conversions for the Bulls to go ahead 19-14 on 30 minutes.

It was a ding-dong affair in the first half and the lead changed hands once again when Griffons prop Daniel van der Merwe crashed over for Whitehead to convert.

But the Bulls led at the break after right wing Kerentse Mahlo’s try and Kurt Webster’s conversion on the hooter.

Kerentse and Smit got in for their braces after the restart and Webster added the extras to have Bulls 40-21 ahead and well in charge.

Van der Merwe did erase some of the deficit with his second score for the Griffons but from there it was all the visitors as they managed tries through centre Marquit September and replacement Theo Maree. Webster added another conversion and a penalty to complete a comprehensive victory.


Griffons – Tries: Daniel van der Merwe (2), Heinrich Roelfse, Siward Mavundla; Conversions: George Whitehead (4)

Blue Bulls – Tries: Alcino Izaacs, Corniel Els, Kefentse Mahlo (2), Marquit September, Roelof Smit (2), Theo Maree; Conversions: Divan Rossouw, Joshua Stander, Kurt Webster (5); Penalties: Kurt Webster

Copyright - SA Rugby. All Rights Reserved - Photos by Gallo Images