Griquas hammer Welwitschias
May 14, 2016

Tiaan Dorfling and AJ Coertzen both grabbed a brace of tries as the Griquas hammered the Windhoek Draught Welwitschias 55-25 (halftime 38-13) in their provincial tournament match at the Hage Geingob Stadium in Windhoek on Saturday.

Scrumhalf Dorfling scored twice in the first half while right wing Coertzen dotted down once in each half as the Griquas continued their fine run of form as they completed their sixth win on the trot to maintain their unbeaten record.

The Griquas ran in eight tries to four as the Welwitschias sank to their sixth consecutive loss to remain at the bottom of the log without a single log point to their name.

Griquas’ fullback Gouws Prinsloo kicked 15 points, thanks to six conversions and a penalty.

The visitors made their intentions clear very early on with Coertzen scoring his first try after just 42 seconds of play before Dorfling scored in the seventh minute.

Welwitschias’ flyhalf Heinrich Smit and Prinsloo then exchanged penalties before Griquas’ pivot Andre Swarts and Dorfling both registered converted tries.

The Welwitschias finally breached the Griquas’ defence when left wing Phillip Nashikaku dotted down for an unconverted try in the 29th minute.

The Griquas struck back with a try from outside centre JW Jonker but the Welwitschias had the last say in the half when inside centre Francois Wiese went over for an unconverted score on the stroke of halftime.

The visitors continued their good form in the second half as they extended their lead to 45-13 thanks to a converted try from tighthead prop Stephan Kotze.

The hosts continued to fight though and replacement centre Justin Nel scored and converted a try in the 60th minute.

But the Griquas were not to be denied and they ran in two more tries through replacement flank Thabo Mabusa and Coertzen before the Welwitschias grabbed a late consolation try from replacement scrumhalf Jean-Claude Winkler.


Windhoek Draught Welwitschias – Try: Phillip Nashikaku, Francois Wiese, Justin Nel, Jean-Claude Winkler; Conversion: Nel; Penalty: Heinrich Smit.

Griquas – Tries: Tiaan Dorfling (2), AJ Coertzen (2), Andre Swarts, JW Jonker, Stephan Kotze, Thabo Mabusa; Conversions: Gouws Prinsloo (6); Penalty: Prinsloo.

Copyright - SA Rugby. All Rights Reserved - Photos by Gallo Images