WP suffer first defeat
May 07, 2016

The Cell C Sharks XV secured a late 24-16 (halftime 10-11) victory over DHL Western Province in a provincial tournament clash at Growthpoint Kings Park in Durban on Saturday evening.

The teams had been separated by just one point heading into the final minutes of the game but fullback Alwin Eksteen scored a late try which flyhalf Tristan Tredder converted top hand the men from Durban a well-earned victory and inflict a first defeat of the season on Western Province.

The Sharks, who trailed WP by a single point at the break, took the lead for the first time in the match early in the second half when Tedder crossed the white-wash for his try, which he converted himself to hand the Sharks a six-point advantage.

But Province found a way through the Durbanites defences when right wing Khanyo Ncgukana dived over in the corner to reduce the deficit to a single point as WP flyhalf Grant Hermanus missed the conversion with 15 minutes remaining on the stadium clock.

But Eksteen ended off a good move late in the game to score the winning try which Tedder converted to not only condemn WP to their first defeat of the season, but also deny them a losing bonus-point.

Province, who had won their opening three games of the campaign, were looking to make it four from four but the Sharks put up a strong second half performance, outscoring the visitors by two tries to one in the second stanza.

Hermanus opened the scoring in the first half with two penalties before scrumhalf Godlen Masimla dotted down for the first try of the match, which was unconverted by the WP pivot as the visitors opened up an 11-point lead midway through the first half.

But the Sharks began to compose themselves and took control of the remainder of the opening half, with Tedder slotting his only penalty of the game before centre Marius Louw flew over the line for the Sharks’ opening try which Tedder converted to leave the hosts trailing by a single point at the break.


Cell C Sharks XV – Tries: Marius Louw, Tristen Tredder, Alrin Eksteen; Conversions: Tedder (3); Penalty: Tedder.

DHL Western Province – Tries: Godlen Masimla, Khanyo Ngcukana; Penalties: Grant Hermanus (2).

Copyright - SA Rugby. All Rights Reserved - Photos by Gallo Images