Blue Bulls crowned champions in Absa Under-21 final
October 25, 2014
A late try by Jesse Kriel confirmed the Vodacom Blue Bulls Under-21 side's dominance of their Absa Currie Cup Under-21 Provincial Championship final over defending champions DHL Western Province and resulted in a 20-10 win.

The visitors played with more purpose in the second half of a tight game where their great defence and foward pack chipped away at the home team's resolve.

They also used the rolling maul to great effect and in the end won going away.

The first half proved to be a classical north/south encounter with the Blue Bulls hammering away with their forwards, but WP creating turn-overs and counter-attacks.

Robert du Preez cancelled out an earlier Joshua Stander penalty to get the home side on the board, but after Stander kicked a second penalty, the visitors claimed bragging rights after the first 40 minutes of hard and uncompromised action.

The second half was equally sapping.

Du Preez scored and converted his own try to put WP up 10-6, but by now the Blue Bulls machine was truly lit.

Some impact from their reserve bench also added some spark and when Blue Bulls captain, Ruan Steenkamp, was worked over for his team's first try in the 70th minute, the heads started to hang in the WP camp.

Their dominance was confirm when Jesse Kriel, who had a try disallowed in the first half, crashed through a number of tackles to seal the fate of the defending champions. Kobus Marais, who replaced Stander during the second half, kicked both conversions.

Steenkamp praised his side's first phase play afterwards.

"We drove and scrummed well all season and decided not to change that for the final. We stuck to our guns and it worked out again for us today. We worked hard for this and this win will be remembered by all," Steenkamp said.

"Thank you to all who contributed to this effort."

DHL Western Province 10 (3), Vodacom Blue Bulls 20 (6).


DHL Western Province 10 (3). Try: Robert du Preez. Conversion: Du Preez. Penalty: Du Preez
Vodacom Blue Bulls 20 (6). Tries: Ruan Steenkamp, Jesse Kriel. Conversions: Kobus Marais (2). Penalties: Joshua Stander (2).


Copyright - SA Rugby. All Rights Reserved - Photos by Gallo Images