Bulls advance to Vodacom Cup final
Craig Ray
May 02, 2009
The Blue Bulls advanced to the final of the Vodacom Cup with a clinical 45-34 (halftime 27-13) semifinal win over the Platinum Leopards at Loftus Versfeld on Saturday.

The Bulls will meet GWK Griquas in next week’s final after the men from Kimberley upset the Sharks 37-25 in the day’s earlier semifinal.

It’s will be Bulls’ eighth Vodacom Cup final while Griquas will contest their sixth final. Amazingly though the two sides have only met once in the final, which was in 2007, with Griquas winning 33-29 that day.

Bulls flyhalf Francois Brummer contributed 25 points from two conversions, five penalties and two dropped-goals thanks to the strict application of the breakdown laws by the referee. It gave the Bulls pivot ample opportunities to keep the scoreboard ticking over and he didn’t let the chances slip.

Brummer had already landed four penalties before half time as well as a well-taken drop goal and a conversion. Centre Wayne Julies and flank Okkie Kruger scored first-half tries for the Bulls to set them on their way.

The visitors trailed 21-3 after only 24 minutes but managed to claw their way back into the match through a try from wing Nicky Kritzinger, converted by Riaan Smit and a second Smit penalty three minutes before the break.

Although the Bulls scored the first points of the second half when wing Rocco Jansen sped over the line, it was the Leopards who dominated the period.

Lock Rudi Matthee scored a try in the 49th minute and then centre Riaan Swanepoel added two tries in the space of five minutes to bring the visitors to within a point of the lead.

But the double Swanepoel strike woke the Bulls from their slumber with wing John Mametsa scoring a 71st minute try and Brummer adding a fifth penalty four minutes from the end.


Blue Bulls - Tries: Wayne Julies, Okkie Kruger, Rocco Jansen, John Mamesta. Conversions: Francois Brummer (2). Penalties: Brummer (5). Drop-Goals: Brummer (2).

Leopards - Tries: Nicky Kritzinger, Rudi Matthee, Riaan Swanepoel (2). Conversions: Riaan Smit (4). Penalties: Smit (2).

The Castle Lager Rugby Championship
Saturday, July 20 2019
17:05 - South Africa vs Australia
Emirates Airline Park, Johannesburg
Saturday, July 27 2019
09:35 - New Zealand vs South Africa
Westpac Stadium, Wellington
Saturday, August 10 2019
00:00 - Argentina vs South Africa
Castle Lager Incoming Series
Saturday, August 17 2019
17:05 - South Africa vs Argentina
Loftus Versfeld, Pretoria
RWC Warm-up game
Friday, September 06 2019
00:00 - Japan vs South Africa
Kumagaya Rugby Stadium, Saitama
Rugby World Cup
Saturday, September 21 2019
11:45 - South Africa vs New Zealand
International Stadium, Yokohama
Saturday, September 28 2019
11:45 - South Africa vs Namibia
City of Toyota Stadium
Friday, October 04 2019
11:45 - South Africa vs Italy
Shizuoka Stadium
Tuesday, October 08 2019
12:15 - South Africa vs Canada
Kobe Misaki Stadium

Copyright - SA Rugby. All Rights Reserved - Photos by Gallo Images