EP penalised after appeal dismissed
March 30, 2011
The Eastern Province Rugby Union’s (EPRU) appeal against the decisions of Judicial Officer (JO) Mr Koos Basson’s finding that the union was guilty of breaching regulation 4.2 of the Players Status, Player Contracts and Player Movements Regulations was dismissed on Wednesday.

The JO found the union guilty of breaching Regulation 4.2 of the Player Status, Player Contracts and Player Movement Regulations after they fielded two players, Hannes Franklin and Jacques Coetzee, to play in four matches (two in the Vodacom Cup for EP Kings and two friendly matches prior to the start of Super Rugby 2011) earlier this year, without the necessary clearance certificates.

EPRU were fined R30 000 in respect of the two friendly games against the Bulls (R10 000) and the Cheetahs (R20 000), and will forfeit all nine log points accumulated from the Vodacom Cup games against the Welwitschias (25 February) and the Leopards (4 March).

The complaint was made by the Mpumalanga Rugby Union. Franklin and Coetzee were fielded by EPRU without a clearance certificate as required by Regulation 4.1.

OP boet punte in ná appèl misluk

Die Oostelike Provinsie Rugbyunie (OPRU) se appèl teen die bevindings van die tugbeampte, Mnr Koos Basson, dat die unie regulasie 4.2 in die "Players Status, Player Contracts and Player Movements Regulations" oortree het, is Woensdag verwerp.

Mnr Basson het die unie skuldig bevind daaraan dat hulle regulasie 4.2 oortree het ná hulle twee spelers, Hannes Franklin en Jacques Coetzee, in vier wedstryde gebruik het (twee in die Vodacombeker vir die OP Kings en twee vriendskaplike wedstryde vir die Southern Kings voor die afskop van Super Rugby 2011) vroeër vanjaar, sonder die nodige vrystellingsertifikate.

Die OPRU is met R30 000 beboet vir die twee vriendskaplike wedstryde teen die Bulls (R10 000) en die Cheetahs (R20 000), en verbeur die nege ligapunte wat hulle in die Vodacombeker-wedstryde teen die Welwitschias (25 Feb) en die Luiperds (4 Mrt) gekry het.

Die klag is deur die Mpumalanga Rugbyunie gelê. Franklin en Coetzee is deur OP gekies sonder 'n vrystellingsertifikaat, soos vereis deur regulasie 4.1.

The Castle Lager Rugby Championship
Saturday, July 20 2019
17:05 - South Africa vs Australia
Emirates Airline Park, Johannesburg
Saturday, July 27 2019
09:35 - New Zealand vs South Africa
Westpac Stadium, Wellington
Saturday, August 10 2019
00:00 - Argentina vs South Africa
Castle Lager Incoming Series
Saturday, August 17 2019
17:05 - South Africa vs Argentina
Loftus Versfeld, Pretoria
RWC Warm-up game
Friday, September 06 2019
00:00 - Japan vs South Africa
Kumagaya Rugby Stadium, Saitama
Rugby World Cup
Saturday, September 21 2019
11:45 - South Africa vs New Zealand
International Stadium, Yokohama
Saturday, September 28 2019
11:45 - South Africa vs Namibia
City of Toyota Stadium
Friday, October 04 2019
11:45 - South Africa vs Italy
Shizuoka Stadium
Tuesday, October 08 2019
12:15 - South Africa vs Canada
Kobe Misaki Stadium

Copyright - SA Rugby. All Rights Reserved - Photos by Gallo Images