WP secure semifinal place
May 16, 2015

DHL Western Province advanced to the Vodacom Cup semifinals thanks to a 47-22 (halftime 21-19) win over the Leopards XV (halftime 21-19) in their quarterfinal clash at City Park in Cape Town on Saturday.

Western Province were deserved winners of the contest as they ran in seven tries to three with the hosts turning in a string second-half performance which saw them outscore their opponents 26-3 in the second stanza.

Province made a fast start to the match thanks to a smart piece of work from scrumhalf Godlen Masimla who sniped over for a converted try in the fifth minute of the contest.

The hosts built on their good start when flank Justin Benn barrelled his way over for his first of two tries, in the 17th minute before the Leopards started to fight back with two converted tries from right wing Sergio Torrans as the visitors levelled the scores after 27 minutes.

Province gained the upper-hand once again, in a topsy-turvy half, as inside centre Robert du Preez grabbed a converted try.

But the Leopards continued to show their fighting spirit and they went to the break trailing by just two points thanks to an unconverted try from fullback Rhyno Smith shortly before the break.

Province began the second half much like they had started the contest and Benn went over for his second try just three minutes after the resumption of play as the home team moved to a 26-19 lead.

Leopards flyhalf Adriaan Engelbrecht narrowed the gap to four points with a 48th minute penalty.

But the home team finally put some broke away on the scoreboard, with 15 minutes left to play, thanks to a try from outside centre Jaco Taute who went over in the corner with flyhalf Jean-Luc Du Plessis slotting the difficult conversion.

The hosts then sealed an emphatic second-half performance when flank Tapiwa Tsomondo and fullback EW Viljoen both grabbing tries late in the half.

Western Province will play the Blue Bulls XV in the semifinal.


DHL Western Province – Tries: Godlen Masimla, Justin Benn (2), Robert du Preez, Jaco Taute, Tapiwa Tsomondo, EW Viljoen; Conversions: Jean-Luc Du Plessis (6).

Leopards XV – Tries: Sergio Torrans (2), Rhyno Smith; Conversions: Adriaan Engelbrecht (2); Penalty: Engelbrecht.

The Castle Lager Rugby Championship
Saturday, July 20 2019
17:05 - South Africa vs Australia
Emirates Airline Park, Johannesburg
Saturday, July 27 2019
09:35 - New Zealand vs South Africa
Westpac Stadium, Wellington
Saturday, August 10 2019
00:00 - Argentina vs South Africa
Castle Lager Incoming Series
Saturday, August 17 2019
17:05 - South Africa vs Argentina
Loftus Versfeld, Pretoria
RWC Warm-up game
Friday, September 06 2019
00:00 - Japan vs South Africa
Kumagaya Rugby Stadium, Saitama
Rugby World Cup
Saturday, September 21 2019
11:45 - South Africa vs New Zealand
International Stadium, Yokohama
Saturday, September 28 2019
11:45 - South Africa vs Namibia
City of Toyota Stadium
Friday, October 04 2019
11:45 - South Africa vs Italy
Shizuoka Stadium
Tuesday, October 08 2019
12:15 - South Africa vs Canada
Kobe Misaki Stadium

Copyright - SA Rugby. All Rights Reserved - Photos by Gallo Images