FS crowned Coca-Cola Craven Week champs
July 03, 2010
The Free State Cheetahs were crowned Coca-Cola under-18 Craven Week champions for 2010 following their comprehensive 42-21 victory over Western Province in Welkom on Saturday.

The Bloemfontein side held a 22-11 half-time lead despite WP scoring the first points of the game. WP fullback Craig Barry dived in at the corner to run in his side’s first try of the game in the second minute of play.

The Free Staters then had the chance of adding their first points in the game immediately after the restart after referee Marius van der Westhuizen penalised Province for diving in a ruck. Cheetahs’ flyhalf and Player of the Match Johan Goosen, who scored 22 points in the game, missed his first attempt at goal.

WP flyhalf Gavin Hauptfleisch then stretched his side’s lead to 8-0 after he kicked his first penalty in the 15th minute after the Bloemfontein side were penalised for offside play.

Goosen then added Free State’s first score (8-3) in the 17th minute when the Capetonians were penalised for using their hands in a ruck.

Centre Paul Jordaan then levelled the scores (8-8) when he ran in a brilliant individual try by beating three Western Province defenders in the 25th minute of the game. Goosen added the conversion to hand the Bloemfontein side a 10-8 lead.

Winger Siphosethu Tom then dived in to score Free State’s second try of the match immediately after the restart to steer the score to 15-8. WP though clawed their way back via a penalty kick by Hauptfleisch after the referee penalised the Cheetahs for a scrum infringement (15-11).

However, the Cheetahs hit back in the 32nd minute of the game and stretched their lead even further when winger Tom scored his second try of the match. His five-pointer was converted by Goosen (22-11).

After the break, the Grey College flyhalf kicked his second penalty of the game and stretched his side’s lead to 25-11 after WP were penalised for diving in a ruck. Hauptfleisch then narrowed the gap by adding his third penalty of the game (25-14).

Free State flanker Henco Greyling dived in to score his side’s fourth try in the 47th minute of the game before Goosen added the conversion to hand his side a 32-14 lead. The Bloemfontein pivot kicked his third penalty in the 60th minute of the game after the WP hooker was yellow-carded for foul play (35-14).

Goosen, who was the stand out player for the Cheetahs, then scored his side’s fifth try of the game to stretch the lead to 40-14. He converted his own try to hand the Bloemfontein side a 42-14 lead.

Andreas Dercksen scored a consolation try for Province in the final stages of the match 42-19 before his five-pointer was converted by Devon Williams.

However, it was the Free State Cheetahs who held out to remain undefeated in the 2010 Coca-Cola under-18 Craven Week with a 42-21 win over WP.

Day Five results at the 2010 Coca-Cola Under-18 Craven Week:

Free State Cheetahs 42 Western Province 21

Scorers: Free State Cheetahs – Tries: Johan Goosen, Paul Jordaan, Siphosethu Tom (2), Henco Greyling; Conversions: Goosen (4); Penalties: Goosen (3).
Western Province – Tries: Craig Barry, Andreas Dercksen; Conversion: Devon Williams; Penalties: Gavin Hauptfleisch (3)

Boland 49 KwaZulu Natal 23

Scorers: Boland – Tries: Leroy Bitterhoud (3), Andrew Van Wyk, Chevandre van Schoor, Willem Liebenberg, Ruan van Rooy; Conversions: Jacques Rossouw (4); Penalties: Rossouw (2).
Kwazulu Natal – Try: Wade Elliot, Jason Klaasen; Conversion: Duncan Campell (2); Penalties: Campell (3).

Blue Bulls 38 Valke 15

Scorers: Blue Bulls – Tries: Rudi van Rooyen (2), Richmond Collins, Marcelle Smit, Justin Forwood, Brink Botha; Conversions: Tony Jantjies (4). Valke – Penalties: Ruan Barnard (5).

Lions 28 Pumas 11

Scorers: Lions – Tries: Fabian Booysen, David Schmidt, Armandt Liebenberg; Conversions: Schmidt (2); Penalties: Schmidt (3).
Pumas – Try: Johan Haasbroek; Penalties: Ryno Swart (2).

Griffons 7 Griquas 29

Scorers: Griffons – Try: Buran Parks; Conversion: Ryno Venter.
Griquas – Tries: Herman van Niekerk, James Cloete, Johan du Plessis, Coenraad Cohn; Conversions: Du Plessis (3); Penalty: Du Plessis.

Eastern Province 34 Border 20

Scorers: Eastern Province – Tries: Francois Grobler (2), Marthinus du Toit, Justin Benn, Duane Adams; Conversions: Franz Botha (2), Shane Gates; Penalty: Botha.
Border – Tries: Gert Meyer, Dean Hammond; Conversions: Bongi Kobese (2); Penalties: Kobese (2).

Border CD 5 Platinum Leopards 65

Scorers: Border CD – Try: Siphesihle Bidli;
Platinum Leopards – Tries: Zeann Lazenby, Sechaba Monyaki, Johan Bornman, Louwrens Strydom, Ettienne Oosthuizen, Elvis Phalane, Divan Visser, Dean Basson, Christoffel Marais, Casper Badenhorst, Barend Swanepoel; Conversions: Lazenby (4), Andries de Wet.

Namibia 21 Zimbabwe 30

Scorers: Namibia – Tries: Nandivabu Karuuombe, Gert Lotter; Conversions: Ailo-John Plato; Penalties: John Plato.
Zimbabwe – Tries: Justin Coles, Cornelius Pieters, Ben Viljoen; Conversions: Corey van Rensburg (2); Penalties: Van Rensburg (2).

SWD Eagles 20 Limpopo Blue Bulls 26

SWD Eagles – Tries: Percival Williams, Sylvian Mahuza; Conversion: Hendri Rust (2); Penalties: Rust (2).
Limpopo Blue Bulls – Tries: Hencus van Wyk, Kefentse Mahlo; Conversions: Lukas van Zyl (2); Penalties: Van Zyl (4).

Eastern Province CD 31 Griquas CD 20

Scorers: Eastern Province CD – Tries: Grant Prior (2), Dylan Bond, Ryan Dugmore, Deswell van der Berg, Conversions: Willem Venter (3).
Griquas CD – Tries: Frederick Botha, Gabriel Liebenberg, Johan Myburgh; Conversion: Juan Booysen; Penalty: Myburgh.

Vodacom Super Rugby
Friday, June 30 2017
19:00 - Cell C Sharks vs Vodacom Bulls
Growthpoint Kings Park, Durban
Saturday, July 01 2017
01:05 - Jaguares vs Southern Kings
Velez Sarsfield Stadium, Buenos Aires
15:05 - Toyota Cheetahs vs DHL Stormers
Toyota Stadium, Bloemfontein
17:15 - Emirates Lions vs Sunwolves
Emirates Airline Park, Johannesburg
Friday, July 07 2017
11:45 - Reds vs Brumbies
Suncorp Stadium, Brisbane
13:55 - Force vs Rebels
nib Stadium, Perth
Saturday, July 08 2017
11:45 - Waratahs vs Jaguares
Allianz Stadium, Sydney
17:15 - Vodacom Bulls vs Southern Kings
Loftus Versfeld, Pretoria
19:30 - DHL Stormers vs Sunwolves
DHL Newlands, Cape Town
Friday, July 14 2017
09:35 - Highlanders vs Reds
Forsyth Barr Stadium, Dunedin

Copyright - SA Rugby. All Rights Reserved - Photos by Gallo Images