SA Fish Industries teams look to make their mark
October 27, 2016
A new champion will be crowned at the Smit Sports Grounds in Velddrif on the West Coast this weekend as 16 teams from the surrounding fish factories take to the field in the 29th edition of the SA Rugby Fish Industries Tournament.

This tournament was the brainchild of the late Dr Danie Craven, former Springbok centre Ian Kirkpatrick and former Proteas skipper Dougie Dyers, and was first held in Saldanha in 1987 with the aim of providing players working in the fishing industry with an opportunity to participate in sport and wear the colours of their employers.

The competition will feature four pools of four teams, who will each play two shortened round-robin matches of 30 minutes (two 15 minute halves) on Friday and one on Saturday before the top teams go head-to-head in the knock-out stages. The top two teams will battle it out in the Final, which will be extended to 40 minutes (two halves of 20 minutes each).

Club Mykonos, who will not be participating in the competition this year, won the title last season after defeating Elandsbaai 22-0 in the final, while Sea Harvest are another side to watch after winning the 2013 and 2014 titles.

Elandsbaai B and Coastal Links will meet in the opening match on Friday at 10h00, while Lucky Star and West Point Fishing will meet in the final match of the opening day on 20h00.

Day one fixtures (Friday, 28 October):

10h00 – Elandsbaai B v Coastal Links
10h40 – Amawandle v Sea Vuna
11h20 – Cerebos v Abdive
12h00 – West Point Fishing v West Point
12h40 – I&J v Elandsbaai A
13h20 – Lucky Star Fleet v Sea Harvest
14h00 – Sea Pride v Gansbaai
14h40 – Lucky Star v Spot-on-Deals
15h20 – Coastal Links v Elandsbaai A
16h00 – Sea Vuna v Sea Harvest
16h40 – Abdive vs Gansbaai
17h20 – West Point v Spot-on-Deals
18h00 – I&J v Elandsbaai B
18h40 – Lucky Star Fleet v Amawandle
19h20 – Sea Pride v Cerebos
20h00 – Lucky Star v West Point Fishing

The Castle Lager Rugby Championship
Saturday, August 18 2018
17:05 - South Africa vs Argentina
Jonsson Kings Park, Durban
Saturday, August 25 2018
21:10 - Argentina vs South Africa
Estadio Malvinas Argentinas, Mendoza
Saturday, September 08 2018
12:05 - Australia vs South Africa
Suncorp Stadium, Brisbane
Saturday, September 15 2018
09:35 - New Zealand vs South Africa
Westpac Stadium, Wellington
Saturday, September 29 2018
17:05 - South Africa vs Australia
Nelson Mandela Bay Stadium, PE
Saturday, October 06 2018
17:05 - South Africa vs New Zealand
Loftus Versfeld, Pretoria
Castle Lager Outgoing Tour
Friday, November 02 2018
00:00 - England vs South Africa
Twickenham, London
Saturday, November 10 2018
00:00 - France vs South Africa
Stade de France, Paris
Saturday, November 17 2018
00:00 - Scotland vs South Africa
Murrayfield, Edinburgh
Saturday, November 24 2018
00:00 - Wales vs South Africa
Principality Stadium, Cardiff

Copyright - SA Rugby. All Rights Reserved - Photos by Gallo Images